Kerwin Young Composing a Fourth Symphony

Posted: October 18, 2015 in Press

With no present work assignments to interfere with my time, I’m writing my fourth symphony. About a week ago, I was averaging one-minute of new music a day. Currently, I’m averaging about 3 minutes per day. Without a doubt, I will complete this work before the new year, leaving me with a few weeks for handling the edits and engraving. It won’t be as long as my symphonies 1-3, or as large, but it’s a happening work. I’ve got nothing but time on my hands to compose, while I continue to secure my niche in the classical field.

Upcoming performances include a November concert of  Evan Cooper (violist) performing a new arrangement of Music for Steven Spielberg’s Next Film. Originally composed for alto saxophone and piano, the latest version for viola and piano excites me. I’m looking forward to hear it. it seems like this will be the last of my concert performances for 2015.

Other planned compositions include a piano quintet for pianist Wen Zhang, and an orchestral work celebrating the life of O’Sensei Ronald Duncan.  Other works slated between 2016-2019 can be viewed on my website, under Concert Works.

Stay tuned!

K

Comments are closed.