New Orchestral Works and Amendments to Existing Ones

Posted: October 6, 2015 in Press

Just on the heels of completing a third symphony, I’m now composing a fourth. I’m averaging about 1-2 minutes of new music per day with this one. It is a prequel to Symphony No. I (Empire of Kasuf). Until I am commissioned to score an epic major motion picture, I will compose these grand, larger-than-life symphonic works.

Amendments to my recent symphony, Khemet West, has undergone multiple text changes and challenges. I’ve been waiting on 7 people versed in Afro-Asiatic languages in east Africa, to translate the tempo text from English. Friends from Uganda, Tanzania, Kenya, Sudan, Ethiopia, and Eritrea committed to the task of translations; yet no one has translated one word. I didn’t want to use any standard European tempo text. However, it’s been almost a year since requesting these services, and I must say that I am not satisfied with the lack of commitment. So, guess what? All tempo text will be presented in Italian. Perhaps someone will come in the future to make these translations for me. It’s my longest work to date, at sixty-six minutes. It’s the perfect prerequisite for my planned operas.

I’ve got several works in planning, but until I begin to get the current completed works programmed/performed, I won’t be writing much……unless there’s a handsome commission. I’ve been re-orchestrating several of my existing chamber works to solicit for performances.

Gustavo Dudamel!! Where are you?

That’s about it for now.

Stay tuned!

Comments are closed.