Source Magazine – Unsigned Hype 1991-1993

Posted: July 23, 2012 in Press

Back in the day, Matty C established the Unsigned Hype section to the Source Magazine, before becoming a recording company executive.  I remember back in 1991 when the Source was a 50cent magazine.  I remember when it first began, Daddy Reef came up to old Hit Factory recording studio on 42nd Street, where we were working on the Don’t Sweat the Technique album for Eric B. & Rakim.

Between 1991 and 1993, I was fortunate to have produced and worked on several demos for new hip-hop artists.  The place was 510 South Franklin, Hempstead, NY, home of the Bomb Squad.  Paul Shabazz and I worked with Mobb Deep.  Prodigy of Mobb Deep and I worked with Dr. Seus.  Prince Paul came out to 510 along with Poetic to collab on the Brothers Grimm project.  My buddy, Richard “Lord of the Board” Simmons also worked on that demo.  Rich and I were a production duo from our college days at NYIT, and had worked on the Don’t Sweat the Technique album together.

A funny story, but true is that the Brothers Grimm demo tape that was sent to the Source Magazine had no contact information.  I can’t find that particular article, but when that issue of the Un-Singed Hype was released, that was the main highlight, aside from it being a strong demo.   Here are some of the artists I worked with during this time:

  1. Mobb Deep
  2. Brothers Grimm (a/k/a Gravediggaz)
  3. Eight-Off the Assassin
  4. Dr. Seus

Here are two press releases

Comments are closed.